Skip to main content

RHU

Rafik Hariri University

2026–27 informationApplications: ungradapp.rafikhaririuniversity.org
Apply on ungradapp.rafikhaririuniversity.org

Programs​

20

RHU was established in 1999 and has three colleges: Arts and Sciences (CAS), Business Administration (CBA) and Engineering (CE). It lists 14 open undergraduate majors: Computer Science and Graphic Design (CAS), six Bachelor of Business Administration majors (CBA), and six engineering majors (CE), each of which is offered as both a Bachelor of Science (BS) and a Bachelor of Engineering (BE). It also runs a Freshman Program (30 credits) for students who do not hold the Lebanese Baccalaureate or its equivalent, and an Intensive English Language Program. The 2026-27 catalog lists the BA in English Language and the BS in Healthcare Information Systems as "currently frozen", so they are not in the majors table.

RHU has a 54,000 m² campus in Mechref, Damour, about 20 km south of Beirut, with nine main buildings: seven for teaching, one for administration and one for residences. English is the language of instruction in all programs, on a credit-hour system with 30 credits of general education (30 to 33 in Arts and Sciences; 27 in the engineering BS). RHU's alumni network exceeds 3,800 graduates.

Accreditation: ABET reaccredited the Computer Science (BS) program and all six Bachelor of Engineering programs through September 30, 2031 (the engineering BS programs are not ABET-accredited). The College of Business Administration holds ACBSP accreditation (renewed 2023), and RHU says the College of Engineering is accredited by the Federation of Arab Engineers; see SOURCES.md for further departmental accreditations (HRCI, IMA).

The majors table lists 20 rows: Computer Science, Graphic Design, the six BBA majors, and the six engineering majors as separate BS and BE rows. Credits and durations follow the 2026-27 catalog; several other RHU pages still print older, lower figures — see SOURCES.md for every number and its source.

Sources:RHU at a GlanceRHU AccreditationRHU Why RHU?Undergraduate Catalog 2026-2027Admissions Guide 2026-2027

College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)2 programs​

  • Computer Science (ABET-Accredited)CAS Computer, Math & SciencesBS3 years93 creditsEN
  • Graphic DesignCAS DesignBS3 years111 creditsEN

College of Business Administration (CBA)6 programs​

  • AccountingCBA Financial StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN
  • Business Information Technology ManagementCBA Financial StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN
  • Finance and BankingCBA Financial StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN
  • ManagementCBA Management & Marketing StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN
  • Human Resources ManagementCBA Management & Marketing StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN
  • Marketing and AdvertisingCBA Management & Marketing StudiesBBA3 years99 creditsEN

Application​

Application Types + Windows​

RHU admits students for the Fall and Spring semesters (the Summer session has classes but no published application date). Its Before Applying page says applications must be completed and submitted with all documents, online or in person, no later than August 25 for the Fall semester and December 25 for the Spring semester, and that the early-admission deadline for undergraduate Fall applicants is May 31. The page prints no year, so the table below reads the dates as belonging to the 2026-27 cycle (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027); the year is inferred, not printed. RHU's calendar also lists December 25 as Christmas, a holiday. RHU's 2026-27 calendar puts new-student orientation and registration for Spring 2027 on Dec 1–2, 2026, before the December 25 date, and RHU does not explain the difference. The catalog says RHU notifies applicants of an acceptance decision within four weeks of receiving a complete application (RHU's Undergraduate page says "usually"); the online application page asks applicants to contact admissions if they have no update within 10 working days of submitting.

  • Apply byMay 31, 2026Opens Not published

    RHU prints "May 31" without a year.

  • Apply byAug 25, 2026Opens Not published

    RHU prints "August 25" without a year. New-student orientation and registration Aug 31, 2026; classes began Sep 1, 2026.

  • Apply byDec 25, 2026Opens Not published

    RHU prints "December 25" without a year. The calendar puts new-student orientation and registration on Dec 1–2, 2026; classes begin Jan 11, 2027.

  • Apply byNot publishedOpens Not published

    No application date is published. Classes begin May 26, 2027.

How to apply: apply online at ungradapp.rafikhaririuniversity.org (create an account first; scanned uploads are not treated as originals, and the original documents are handed in at the Admissions Office later) or in person at Block E, Admissions Office, Mechref Village, Damour. Complete applications need the high school records, the certified diploma or equivalence, the identity documents, photos, the English proficiency proof and the application fee (see Requirements). Transfer applicants also send the university transcript and catalog.

After acceptance: pay the enrollment deposit by the deadline in your acceptance e-letter, book the in-house TOEFL if you have no English proof, and submit the original or certified documents the letter lists. Then meet your academic advisor, check your email for the RHU username and password sent by the IT Department, get your statement of fees online and pay it in the period given. New students attend orientation before classes begin.

Semester calendar 2026-27 (RHU marks it tentative; holiday dates pending moon sightings may change):

SemesterNew-student orientation and registrationPayment dueClasses beginDrop and addWithdraw from courses byClasses endFinal exams
Fall 2026Aug 31, 2026Aug 31, 2026Sep 1, 2026Sep 8–9, 2026Nov 6, 2026Dec 9, 2026Dec 12–19, 2026
Spring 2027Dec 1–2, 2026Jan 8, 2027Jan 11, 2027Jan 18–19, 2027Mar 19, 2027Apr 21, 2027Apr 23 – May 4, 2027
Summer 2027Not publishedMay 14, 2027May 26, 2027May 27, 2027Jun 30, 2027Jul 15, 2027Jul 19–20, 2027

Other dates: advising week Nov 2–6, 2026 and registration week Nov 9–13, 2026 for continuing students (for Spring 2027); advising week Mar 15–19, 2027 and registration week Mar 22–31, 2027 for continuing students (for Summer and Fall 2027); reading periods Dec 10–11, 2026 and Apr 21–22, 2027; commencement Jun 19, 2027 (tentative). Summer classes and co-op work experience both begin May 26, 2027 (the calendar's web page lists commencement as "to be announced"). The catalog's copy of the calendar prints Thursday, Aug 27, 2026 as the Fall 2026 new-student orientation and registration date, where the calendar PDF and web page say Aug 31, 2026. Holidays listed by RHU include Founder's Day (celebrated Nov 2, 2026), Independence Day (Nov 22, 2026), Christmas (Dec 25, 2026), New Year (Jan 1, 2027), Armenian Christmas (Jan 6, 2027), Saint Maroon's Day (Feb 9, 2027), the Rafik Hariri Commemoration Day (Feb 14, 2027), Easter (Mar 26–29, 2027 Latin; Apr 30 – May 3, 2027 Greek Orthodox) and Labor Day (May 1, 2027).

Sources:RHU Before ApplyingRHU Academic CalendarAcademic Calendar 2026-2027 (PDF)RHU Apply Online

Application Price​

FeeAmount (USD)

Application feeNon-refundable. Paid in cash on campus (get your student ID number at the Admissions Office, then pay at the Finance Office) or at any BankMed branch with the Bank Application Fee Payment Form emailed after you apply online.
$30

Source:RHU Admission Requirements

The enrollment fee and deposit ($150 each) are paid after acceptance; see Tuition. The Apply Now button at the bottom-left of this page opens RHU's online application portal at ungradapp.rafikhaririuniversity.org.

Tuition (AY 2026-2027)​

RHU's Board of Trustees sets tuition and fees each year, and RHU says they may increase without prior notice. RHU now publishes a one-page "Tuition and Fees, Academic Year 2026-2027" schedule (a PDF created on July 28, 2026, per its file data) with per-credit prices in Lebanese pounds and in US dollars. Compared with 2025-26, per-credit USD tuition is higher for every program except the IELP levels (for example Business Administration $140 to $176 and Engineering $210 to $268), and per-credit LBP tuition is unchanged. Several USD fees also rose (enrollment and deposit from $100 to $150, service fee from $200 to $250 a semester, co-op from $185 to $220, shuttle from $400 to $480, and the dorm rates); BADM290 ($220) and motorbike parking ($20) are new lines, and the enrollment fee is no longer shown in LBP (LBP 3,000,000 in 2025-26).

ProgramPer credit (LBP)

College of Business Administration — undergraduatePer credit (USD): $176
4,000,000
College of Engineering — undergraduatePer credit (USD): $268
5,800,000
College of Arts and Sciences — Graphic DesignPer credit (USD): $205
4,500,000
College of Arts and Sciences — Computer SciencePer credit (USD): $189
4,000,000
Freshman Program (Sciences and Arts)Per credit (USD): $173
4,000,000
Intensive English Language Program — IELP085 and IELP095 (2025-26 schedule: per level; 2026-27 does not say)Per credit (USD): $340
5,800,000
Intensive English Language Program — IELP100 (2025-26 schedule: per level; 2026-27 does not say)Per credit (USD): $200
4,000,000
Graduate, for reference: Business Administration / EngineeringPer credit (USD): $226 / $295
5,300,000 / 8,100,000

Source:Tuition and Fees 2026-2027

Fees on the same schedule:

FeeAmount

Enrollment feePaid by new students when they decide to join RHU; credited to the first semester's statement of fees.
$150
DepositPaid by new students when they decide to join RHU; refunded only on graduation (after any outstanding balance is deducted, per the catalog).
$150
NSSF (social security) subscriptionAn annual fee for Lebanese students who are not registered in NSSF; it might change with the government rate.
LBP 8,400,000
Service fee—
$250 per semester; $125 per summer
Deferred paymentTuition is scheduled over four installments in the fall and spring semesters and two in the summer.
$20 per semester
Co-op and BADM290—
$220 each
Late registration—
$20
Late paymentOn each installment not paid by its deadline, in the currency of the installment.
LBP 3,000,000 / $30

Source:Tuition and Fees 2026-2027

Optional services on the same schedule (RHU says dorm and transportation rates float with financial circumstances):

ServiceFall or Spring semester

Regular shuttle (Beirut, Saida, Iqlim; Mokhtara when applicable)Summer: $240
$480 (paid in two installments); non-refundable from week two
Parking, car / motorbikeSummer: $40 / $10
$80 / $20
Dorm, double room in a shared apartment (Block A)Summer: $425
$850
Dorm, single room (Block A)Summer: $550
$1,100
Dorm, single room (Block F)Summer: $600
$1,200
Dorm depositSummer: —
$100 (refunded when the student leaves the dorm and hands in the room's furniture and assets undamaged)

Source:Tuition and Fees 2026-2027

Paying: download your statement of fees from RHU's Student Information System, print it and pay in cash at any BankMed branch or at the RHU Finance Department. Payments are automatically deferred over four installments (Fall and Spring) or two (Summer). RHU's payment deadlines are Aug 31, 2026 (Fall 2026), Jan 8, 2027 (Spring 2027) and May 14, 2027 (Summer 2027). A dorm late-payment charge starts at $25 and may reach $100, and residency is not renewed if dorm dues stay unpaid. Refunds: if a student drops an already paid course during drop and add, its fees are credited in full to the statement of fees; after that there is no refund unless the student withdraws in an emergency. On official withdrawal, a student who has paid in full gets 75% of tuition and fees back before classes begin and 50% on the first day and during drop and add, and nothing after; students on deferred payment get no refund.

Sources:RHU Fees & ExpensesTuition and Fees 2026-2027 (PDF)Tuition and Fees 2025-2026 (PDF)Undergraduate Catalog 2026-2027

Scholarships​

7

University-offered scholarships​

RHU's Financial Aid page and its 2026-27 Admissions Guide describe the same awards but give different percentages for some of them; both are shown.

Scholarships and discounts​

AwardCoverage (Financial Aid page)Coverage (Admissions Guide 2026-27)Conditions
Merit Scholarship20% to 50% of tuition10% to 50% of tuitionBased on high school grades; no application needed.
Competition Scholarship20% to 50% of tuition25% to 50% of tuitionWinners of RHU school competitions who meet the admission requirements.
Athletic Scholarship25% to 50% of tuitionUp to 50% of tuitionProven athletic ability. Apply to the Admissions Office with a reference from an athletic coach or academy (the guide says an RHU coach) and, if asked, a record of awards; RHU publishes an Athletic Scholarship Form.
Tuition WaiverNot on the page10% of tuitionFor applying to RHU by May 31 (guide only; the year is not stated).
Sibling Discount10% for one of two brothers and/or sisters enrolled at the same time; if more than two are registered, two of them benefit10% when two or more siblings are enrolledThe guide says an application with copies of the siblings' IDs is needed.
Work-Study ProgramOn-campus work up to 8 hours a week for an incomeModest income by hours worked; up to 8 hours a weekAn application is needed; the guide says benefits start in the second semester. RHU's Work Study page sets LBP 9,000 an hour, and requires good standing with a cumulative GPA of at least 70%, at least 12 earned credits, at least one semester at RHU and no disciplinary action; students with no other financial support get priority.

Need-based aid​

RHU's Student Affairs page describes the Financial Aid Program as aid based on verified financial need and academic performance, applied directly to tuition: awards may cover up to 30% of tuition, with higher support possible in extreme cases as recommended by the financial support committee (FSSC); books, housing, co-op fees, repeated courses and miscellaneous fees are not covered; aid is renewable each year for students who still show need and keep a cumulative GPA of at least 70; continuing students apply by the announced deadline, and new applicants submit the Financial Aid Application with their admissions application, with decisions communicated about a month before the Fall semester starts. RHU's Scholarships page describes a limited fund for new students, covering the fall and spring semesters of academic year 2025/2026 (up to 18 credits a semester), with an August 15, 2025 deadline, online applications only (incomplete ones are not reviewed). No dated 2026-27 window is published. Student Affairs handles the program (studentaffairs@rhu.edu.lb, ext. 777).

External — Hariri Foundation partnership​

ProgramCoverage

Hariri Foundation ScholarshipEligibility: The Hariri Foundation and RHU awarded scholarships to 28 students facing financial challenges for academic year 2024-25, under a memorandum of understanding (announced Jan 23, 2025). No later announcement was found.
Not stated

Source:Hariri Foundation

Sources:RHU Financial Aid & Scholarship ProgramsAdmissions Guide 2026-2027Athletic Scholarship FormRHU Student Affairs — Financial Aid ProgramRHU Student Affairs — Work Study Program

Requirements​

SAT​

Applicants to the Freshman Program (for example holders of an American High School Diploma or a British GCE) must submit one of these minimum aptitude test scores before enrolling, together with a certified copy of the permission to join the Freshman Program from the Equivalence Committee of the Lebanese Ministry of Education and Higher Education. RHU does not list the SAT or ACT as a requirement for Lebanese Baccalaureate applicants (the SAT remains one way to prove English proficiency).

TrackMinimum SAT

Freshman ArtsMinimum ACT: 15
870
Freshman SciencesMinimum ACT: 17
950

Source:RHU Admission Requirements

If the applicant's school is accredited by WASC, SACS, AdvancED (Cognia), NEASC, NCASC, NACS or the Council of International Schools, these scores are enough for sophomore admission after the Freshman Program and the Ministry's equivalency. Otherwise ACT Subject Tests are also required during the Freshman year, before sophomore year: for Freshman Arts, Mathematics I and two other subjects with a total of at least 51 and at least 15 in each; for Freshman Sciences, Mathematics II and two of Biology, Chemistry and Physics with a total of at least 60 and at least 17 in each. Lebanese students cannot declare a major or join the sophomore class until they meet the Ministry's and RHU's Freshman requirements.

High-school grades​

To be admitted, a student must have completed at least 12 years of schooling and prove English proficiency (see below). Admission is competitive and depends on space in the program; meeting the requirements only places the applicant in the competition pool.

Lebanese Baccalaureate — tracks accepted by college:

CollegeBaccalaureate study track

Arts and Sciences
General and Life Sciences; Sociology and Economics (two remedial Math courses before Computer Science); Humanities and Literature (all majors except Computer Science)
Business Administration
General and Life Sciences; Sociology and Economics; Humanities and Literature (one remedial Math course)
Engineering
General and Life Sciences; Sociology and Economics (four remedial courses, two Math and two Physics, if grade 11 was in the scientific track)

Source:RHU Admission Requirements

Lebanese Technical Baccalaureate holders may study a major that matches their technical specialization (Ministry of Higher Education Decree # 779/M/2013 as RHU prints it) and must complete these remedial courses:

CollegeMajors

Arts and SciencesRemedial courses (credits): Mathematics (6), Physics (3), Chemistry (3)
Computer Science
Business AdministrationRemedial courses (credits): Mathematics (3), Statistics (3), Economics (3)
All majors
EngineeringRemedial courses (credits): Mathematics (6), Physics (6), Chemistry (3)
All majors

Source:RHU Admission Requirements

  • Foreign secondary certificates equivalent to the Lebanese diploma (for example the official certificates of Arab countries, the French Baccalaureate, the International Baccalaureate and the German Abitur): accepted for an appropriate program if the Ministry of Education validates the certificate.
  • American High School Diploma: Freshman Program if the applicant has 12 years of study, the certificate is recognized by the authorities of the country of origin, and the Equivalence Committee of the Lebanese Ministry of Higher Education gives permission.
  • British GCE: Freshman Program with five Ordinary Level courses, one Advanced Level and 12 years of study; sophomore program with five Ordinary Level and three Advanced Level subjects (or six Advanced Supplementary subjects), excluding languages.

Required documents (officially certified): the original grades of the last three high school years; a certified copy of the diploma (Lebanese Baccalaureate, Technical Baccalaureate, French Baccalaureate, IB or equivalent); for non-Lebanese diplomas, the Lebanese Ministry of Education's equivalency certificate; the English proficiency score; the original civil status record and a copy of the Lebanese ID (Lebanese applicants) or photocopies of the passport and residence permit or ID (non-Lebanese applicants); three identical recent passport-size color photos; and, for transfer students, the official university transcript with the university catalog. Applicants whose final-year grades are not yet issued email them to admissions as soon as they are.

Sources:RHU Admission RequirementsUndergraduate Catalog 2026-2027RHU Undergraduate Application

English proficiency​

English is the language of instruction in all programs. Applicants show proficiency by passing the RHU English Entrance Exam with at least 380, or with one of these minimum scores:

TestMinimum score

Institutional TOEFL (ITP) / RHU in-house TOEFL
550
TOEFL iBT
80
IELTS
6.5
SAT Reading and Writing (Evidence-Based)
530
RHU English Entrance Exam
380

Source:RHU Admission Requirements

Register for the in-house TOEFL through the Admissions Office. When registering for the SAT, give RHU's code 4438. An Institutional TOEFL score is valid for one year from the test date; iBT, SAT and IELTS scores for two. Applicants below these scores enroll in the Intensive English Program, which has three levels (IELP085, IELP095 and IELP100) and places students by their score. RHU's online application form says the in-house TOEFL does not replace an external score for Freshman Program applicants, who must submit the SAT; the aptitude-test requirement above can be met with the SAT or the ACT. Placement exams (catalog): English for all three colleges; Mathematics for Computer Science students (they must pass it) and, depending on their Baccalaureate Mathematics score, for Business students, with remedial courses if the score is low; Design applicants take an aptitude test; engineering students who did not submit SAT scores may be required to sit Mathematics and Physics placement exams (another engineering passage says all incoming engineering students must sit them).

Contacts​

OfficePhoneEmailNotes
Admissions Office (Block E)+961-25-603090 ext. 405 / 406 / 407 / 422admissions@rhu.edu.lbWhatsApp +961-79-048835; fax +961-25-601380; the Admissions Guide prints 76-066742 and the catalog labels +961 76 066742 as RHU's Business WhatsApp. Hours: Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.; in the summer session Monday to Thursday 8:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m.
Registrar's Office (Block B, Room 102)+961-25-603090 ext. 615 / 618registrar@rhu.edu.lb—
Student Affairs (Block E): housing, financial aid, work-study+961-25-603090 ext. 770 / 777studentaffairs@rhu.edu.lb—
College of Arts and Sciences (Block I, Room 201)+961-25-603090 ext. 701da_cas@rhu.edu.lbAdministrative assistant
College of Business Administration (Block G, Room 101-G)+961-25-603090 ext. 301da_bus@rhu.edu.lbAdministrative assistant
College of Engineering (Block C, Room 103)+961-25-603090 ext. 501da_eng@rhu.edu.lbAdministrative assistant

Mailing address: Rafik Hariri University, Mechref, Lebanon, P.O. Box 10 Damour-Chouf 2010; tel. +961-25-603090, fax +961-25-601380. The Admissions Guide prints the university's number as 00961 5 60 30 90, while RHU's site and catalog print +961 25 603090.

Sources:RHU Prospective Students ContactRHU Contacts & Mailing AddressesUndergraduate Catalog 2026-2027